Skins?

Everything related to the visual and coding aspects of websites.
FandomSavant

Skins?

Post by FandomSavant »

You know that "skin" site trick of letting people choose which layout
/color scheme/design they want to appear on your site? How is that accomplished? Is it just a matter of different stylesheets?

Hi! I'm Patricia.

FandomSavant.com - home of my stuff
Twitter: @FandomSavant
Masao
Host

Re: Skins?

Post by Masao »

Sometimes it's just the stylesheets, sometimes it's loading a totally different layout header/footer, and you save the choice in a cookie so the next time they return to the site, they're preference is saved.
THE FATE OF DESTRUCTION IS ALSO THE JOY OF REBIRTH.
FandomSavant

Post by FandomSavant »

Masao wrote:Sometimes it's just the stylesheets, sometimes it's loading a totally different layout header/footer, and you save the choice in a cookie so the next time they return to the site, they're preference is saved.
Ohh, I see. I've never done it before, but I'm building a fanlisting now that I think could benefit from multiple layouts.

I'm building one for Phil Hartman and I'm cross listing it for his acting, his writing, and his work as a graphic artist. So I thought maybe having a layout featuring each of those things would be nice.

Hi! I'm Patricia.

Masao
Host

Post by Masao »

Looking forward to it! Let me know if you need help.
THE FATE OF DESTRUCTION IS ALSO THE JOY OF REBIRTH.
Mikari

Post by Mikari »